SEMSEC BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES 3/28/09

The SEMSEC 2009 business meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m., March 28, 2009 at University of North Carolina, Greensboro, with SEMSEC President, Frank Gunderson, presiding.

Les Gay moved the 2008 Business Meeting Minutes be approved, Revell Carr seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Secretary/Treasurer, Rebecca Sager, reported that no apologies were received this year.

President Frank Gunderson offered a special thank you to 2009 Program Committee Chair, Jamie Cunningham and Local Arrangements Co-Chairs, Gavin Douglas and Revell Carr. He also offered special thanks to SEMSEC 2009 Keynote speaker, Larry Witzeleben.

The president gave special recognition to the 2008 Dale Olsen prize winner, Elizabeth Whittenburg from the University of Georgia, for her paper "Sound of the City: The Transmission of Culture by a College Radio Station."

The president announced the 2009-2010 Advisory Board will consist of: Les Gay (5th Year) Alison Arnold (4th year) Laurie Semmes (3rd year) Gavin Douglas (2nd year) Frank Gunderson (1st year)

It was agreed by consensus of the Advisory Board members that current mode of email contact between the Advisory Board and Chapter President has been sufficient. Gavin Douglas suggested, and it was agreed by consensus, that the Advisory Board should be consulted by current Chapter Officers when policy issues arise.

Elections were held for 2009-2010 officers.

- Per SEMSEC bylaws, current Vice President, James E. Cunningham (Florida Atlantic University) became SEMSEC President.
- Frank Gunderson opened nominations for Vice President. Gavin Douglas nominated Revell Carr, Alison Arnold seconded. Revell accepted the nomination. Seeing no more nominations, Laurie Semmes moved nominations be closed, Jamie Cunningham seconded. James Revell Carr (University of North Carolina Greensboro) was elected SEMSEC Vice President by unanimous voice vote.
- Rebecca D. Sager (Independent Scholar), was re-elected SEMSEC Secretary Treasurer by unanimous voice vote.
- Frank Gunderson announced he found a new Web Manager/Listserv Administrator, Elizabeth Clendinning (Florida State University). She has accepted to serve, contingent upon where she chooses to pursue her doctorate.
- Frank Gunderson opened nominations for Student Board Member. Jonah Chambers nominated Sean DeChant (undergraduate, University of Tennessee), Elizabeth Whittenburg seconded. Sean accepted the nomination. Seeing no more nominations, Jamie Cunningham moved to close the nominations, Revell Carr seconded. Sean DeChant was elected by unanimous voice vote of the students.

Secretary Treasurer, Rebecca Sager, presented the 2008-2009 Treasurer's Report and the 2008-2009 Secretary's Report. (Approved report attached.) Les Gay moved to accept the reports as filed, Frank Gunderson seconded the motion. Reports were approved by unanimous vote.

Changes to SEMSEC by-laws number seven and eight were approved at the 2008 meeting, but the exact wording to achieve the membership's intent was subject to approval. After discussion, Rebecca Sager moved that all changes be approved as amended by Alison Arnold, Jamie Cunningham seconded the motion. The By-Law changes were approved by unanimous voice vote.

Next year's SEMSEC meeting is being hosted by Florida Atlantic University, with Jamie Cunningham serving as Local Arrangements Chair. SEMSEC is in financial standing to afford to bring a music scholar from the Caribbean as a keynote speaker/conference participant next year. Conference themes will intersect with issues of concern in Caribbean musics and cultures. A specific theme for the conference will be announced after a keynote speaker is secured.

A task force to assist in securing a Caribbean scholar for 2010 SEMSEC keynote speaker was formulated to include: Jamie Cunningham, Rebecca Sager, and Frank Gunderson. Also Sean DeChant will ask a student colleague at University of Tennessee, and Frank Gunderson will ask Welson Tremura and Dale Olsen for suggestions and/or help.

Robert Fry announced that his colleague, Greg Barz, and their dean at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee, have agreed to invite SEMSEC to hold its conference there in 2011.

Larry Witzleben announced details of and extended an invitation to the MACSEM conference, April 18-19, 2009.

Outgoing President Frank Gunderson announced he will write letters of appreciation to: UNC Dean for hosting 2009 SEMSEC conference James Cunningham – Program Chair Gavin Douglas and Revell Carr– Local Arrangements Co-Chairs

President Frank Gunderson welcomed James Cunningham as the new SEMSEC President. Incoming President James Cunningham announced he will write a letter of appreciation to outgoing President, Frank Gunderson.

Frank Gunderson moved to close the SEMSEC business meeting, Robert Fry seconded. Meeting was adjourned by unanimous voice vote at 1:40 p.m.